Verbally Annoying

Verbal Ticks

Is there a word or a phrase you use (or overuse) all the time, and are seemingly unable to get rid of? If not, what’s the one that drives you crazy when others use it?

wotd animated GIF

I used to work as Customer Support  Representative and the job demands me to answer to customers’ queries and concerns. There are words that I tend to overuse as a filler to avoid dead air or stammering.

  • Well. Most of the time I used the word ‘Well’ to start a sentence. I used it as a substitute to ‘Basically’ or ‘Actually.’
  • Okay. It is either used before or after the sentence. There were times that I just wanted to end a sentence with ‘Okay’ which sometimes inappropriate because the situation was not Okay.
  • Random fillers like um, uh, I mean. Fillers. I was trying very hard to avoid them. I even made a deal with a boss that I would get a free lunch if ever I stopped using them. I succeeded for a day.
  • I’m sorry. I couldn’t express how sorry I was, so instead I kept saying ‘I’m sorry’ over and over until it sounded insincere.

How about words or phrases I cannot stand and tolerate?

  • What the f**k! Moth**F*****!
  •  Oh my God! – I know they don’t mean it, but using this as an expression sounds like cursing, I’m just saying.
  •  …Right? – Asking ‘right’ at the end part of a sentence. For me, it’s like fishing for an agreement, even if the content of a statement should earn a negative response.
  •  You know? – I don’t know why they are asking if I knew it.
  • Whatever! (Eye rolls)

Not only with expressions, people are sometimes unaware that they are being offensive. I dislike it when people ask personal questions just to start a conversation, e.g. How old are you? Or Why you don’t have kids yet? And then with a know-it-all tone of lectures on how to conceive. Whew!
It’s all very irritating. It takes a great effort to be patient and understanding with these kinds, however, I realize that it is also my fault because I’m not doing anything to shut them up. Don't Tell! emoticon (Hand gesture emoticons)

Comments

