I will always bring Home with Me

The Daily Prompt: An Ounce of Home

You’re embarking on a yearlong, round-the-world adventure, and can take only one small object with you to remind you of home. What do you bring along for the trip?

So I’ll be gone for one long year. Definitely, I’ll miss home. Homesickness is the culprit, but the excitement and the adventure will surely kill it.

The rule to start this endeavor is to bring one small object to remind me of home. What will that be? Of course, my Phablet. I can do almost everything in this small thing. It’s too heavy to bring my desktop. My DSLR is bulky. I don’t have a laptop. My husband has a tablet, but it’s his not mine. I named my phone, Phablet, and it is my best friend in the digital world. It’s with me almost all the time. It is so handy that I can capture precious moments, beautiful scenery, take a Selfie and then shove it in my pocket if I need to do other things. Memory card space overload is not a problem, I’ll just go ahead and upload the photos to my Flickr site. Right there and then, I can just access the photos of my family. I can log-on to my social media account and update my blog in the comfort of my palm.  What about if I get bored or tired of this traveling? Then, I’ll slow down. I’ll sit down and have a cup of coffee, grab my Phablet to read my favorite novel or just watch a movie with a click. Maybe, I’ll just plug the earphone to my ears and lull myself to sleep while listening to my favorite love songs on my phone. And since it’s a phone, I can also call home and bored my family with my adventures.

My Phablet. Don’t mind the yellow one, it’s my Phablet’s little sister.

Wait, there is also another thing that I’m going to bring with me. Well, the rule says one small object. This is an exemption because the other thing I’m bringing is the knowledge of how to cook Pork Adobo. It’s already in my mind. Eating Adobo will definitely remind me of home. It is easy to prepare and has a long storage life.  Though Adobo is a simple Filipino delicacy which can be done with any kind of meat, Pork Adobo is my favorite. The aroma of cooking will make you drool and eating it will make you crave for more. Forget about the fats and cholesterol. I’m traveling, so I’m supposed to enjoy it, right? Hahaha… Defensive! Let’s admit it, your favorite local cuisine will make you remember home wherever you are.

Anyway, here’s how to prepare it:

Quayn’s Pork Adobo

Ingredients:
1 kilo pork belly; cut into 2-inch size
1 head garlic; pounded
1 small onion; chopped
5 dried bay leaves
1/2 tablespoon peppercorns
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup vinegar
1 cup water
1 tbsp of cooking oil
Salt to taste
Chili pepper a piece or more cut into two (this is optional, add only if you want it a little spicy)

Directions:

  • Marinate pork in soy sauce, 1/2 of the preparation of garlic, and peppercorns for 30 minutes to an hour. You may also add chili pepper to add spiciness to the meat.
  • Saute onions and remaining 1/2 of garlic preparation.
  • Add pork.
  • Continue shooting until the meat renders fat.
  • Pour in marinade (everything on the marinade), water and bay leaves.
  • Bring to a boil in medium fire until the meat is tender.
  • Add the vinegar and simmer until a little oily sauce is left.
  • Add salt to taste.
  • Serve hot with rice or bread! Enjoy!

Here’s my finished work:

Quayns’ Pork Adobo

Posted from WordPress for Android by QwenL

3 thoughts on “I will always bring Home with Me

Comments

