All is Possible… Not in my dreams

Daily Prompt: Freudian Flips
Do you remember a recent dream you had? Or an older one that stayed vivid in your mind? Today, you’re your own Freud: Tell us the dream, then interpret it for us! Feel free to be as serious or humorous as you see fit, or to invent a dream if you can’t remember a real one.

They said I can do anything in my dream.  I can be anything a dog, a cat, a fairy, a beautiful princess, or even a president of a kingdom! Mind you, a president for a kingdom! Isn’t it a kingdom ruled by a King? As I said, it’s a dream. I can have everything I want. I can be whoever I’d like to be. I can go anywhere. Imagination is the limit.  That’s what I thought.  But not with my dream.

I had this one dream in which I was the superhero, and had a superpower. My supposed greatest powers were flying and telekinesis. Just like the protagonist in my favorite superhero films, Superman, Spiderman, X-Men, etc. I felt so powerful that I thought I could conquer all villains. They couldn’t defeat me. I was undeniably a conqueror! Haha. But there was one problem with this so-called Superhero Dream of mine, I couldn’t fly nor move anything with my mind.  My dream was like a broken DVD player playing over and over the same scenario. The dream always started with me being a nobody (sounds familiar?). But I was aware that I was dreaming, so just like any writer of my movie, I would pretend as someone helpless, loner, nerd, or someone not worthy of a second look, but with a high intelligence and ability that other people or even my friends or family were not aware of. Then suddenly, out of nowhere, a villain attacked. They were not the usual alien invasions, or a war freak giant robot created by a devil-scientist, or wasn’t about stopping a natural calamity like in a movie 2012, but instead an attack by a human-flesh-eating monster, Aswang.

Aswang is a Filipino folklore monster that feeds on the fetus or on any human viscera. They love to eat the meat, raw. They could fly because of their wide bat-like wings.

I don’t know why, I was the director and writer of my dream, but I did not have the power to change the antagonist of my play? It was always Aswang.  I could change them to vampires or werewolves at the start, but they ended up evolving to Aswang just the same. And since I was the  proud undefeated superhero in my Dream then I was the only one who could stop them, right?  Yes, the ONLY BRAVE ONE!  Then the fight would start.  They could  fly and move fast. No problem with me. I was the Superman, I was the Professor X. I thought so. But instead of flying, I was levitating and crawling and moving in slow motion. Very weird! And then I would try to stop them using telekinesis, but to no avail.  I was conscious that I was dreaming, that everything was just a dream. My body and my mind were insisting to go on, finish the dream, kill the monsters. But I couldn’t even touch them. I was so tired of fighting and motivating myself that I started to fall! Then I would struggle to stay afloat… When the enemies realized that I could do them no harm, they got more aggressive and stronger, and determined to eat my heart. I did not back down… I wrestled with them. I fought them so hard and when they were about to bite me… I would wake up,  feeling so tired,  sad, and annoyed. I promised myself that if ever I would have the same dream again, I would be victorious… But when I experienced the same dream, it ended the same – no ending.

So maybe not all is possible in dreams! Or maybe only in my dream.

 

Posted from WordPress for Android by QwenL

4 thoughts on “All is Possible… Not in my dreams

  1. Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just
    wanted to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through
    your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums
    that deal with the same topics? Thanks a ton!

    Like

  2. your powers didn’t work against it, and you couldn’t kill it; it sounds like your shadow power animal; sometimes they come as the thing you most fear, you can throw the same at them until kingdom come as they say, and all you will do is wear yourself out; they have to be dealt with in a different way, and they will keep on bugging you until you stop fighting and start listening lol; they bring you new teachings and the learning of new skills 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey thank you for interpreting this bizaare dream. It’s trying to tell me something about Me. You’re right maybe i need to start listening. 🙂

      Like

Comments